Vans Triple Crown of Surfing

Annual surfing competition comprised of three events at three beaches.

The most famous surf spot in the world, Oahu’s North Shore, is home to the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing, maybe the ultimate test in big-wave surfing.

Between November 12 and December 20, three separate events are held at three separate beaches: the Reef Hawaiian Pro at Haleiwa Alii Beach Park, the Vans World Cup of Surfing at Sunset Beach, and the Billabong Pipe Masters at Banzai Pipeline. The Triple Crown tests surfers’ ability to adapt to the unique challenges of each location. Extra points for style.

If there's any in the surf world that can top the Vans Triple Crown, it’s the Quiksilver In Memory of Eddie Aikau Big Wave Invitational at Waimea Bay. “The Eddie,” as it’s known locally, is almost as legendary as the man it honors, a celebrated Hawaiian waterman lost at sea in 1978.

The Eddie Aikau Invitational has been held only eight times since 1985—waves have to be 40 feet minimum. If you’re lucky enough to be in town when it happens, be sure to catch it (from dry land).

Reef Hawaiian Pro
Haleiwa Alii Beach Park
off Haleiwa Rd.
Haleiwa, HI 96712

Vans World Cup of Surfing
Sunset Beach
59 Kamehameha Hwy.
Haleiwa, HI 96712

Billabong Pipe Masters
Ehukai Beach Park
off Kamehameha Hwy.
Haleiwa, HI 96712